BistroMD Health Library

Get excited about reading again with fun and interesting tips from our experts, including The M.D., our dietitians, and our fitness expert. In our health library, you will find all of the information you need to achieve your goals of making a healthy lifestyle change. So, start reading and start losing!

Gluten Free

Looking for tips about healthy gluten free living? Need information about losing weight with a gluten free diet? You've come to the right place!

12 Foods to Eat for a Healthy Gluten-Free Diet

Adopting a gluten-free diet is absolutely imperative for individuals diagnosed with celiac disease. These 12 gluten-free foods (and then some) will ease and simplify your next grocery store trip!

12 Foods to Eat for a Healthy Gluten-Free Diet

Adopting a gluten-free diet is absolutely imperative for individuals diagnosed with celiac disease. And with gluten found in a wide-variety of products, tackling a gluten-free diet may seem intimidating and overwhelming. These 12 gluten-free foods (and then some) will ease and simplify your next grocery store trip!

Gluten-Free Food List

Grains and Starches

When it comes to gluten, carbohydrate and starch products are mostly of concern. Though the grains wheat, barley, and rye should be avoided, the following are naturally gluten-free:

1. Rice
All plain rice is gluten-free including white, brown, wild, long-grained, and basmati rice. However, most flavored rice and vinegar-based sushi rice contains gluten ingredients.

2. Oats
Though oats are naturally gluten-free, oats are commonly manufactured with the same equipment as gluten-containing cereals. Prevent cross-contamination risk by identifying a "gluten-free" label on the product.

3. Quinoa
Quinoa is special for a number of reasons: the small grain is packed with protein, a valuable substitute for individuals following a vegetarian or vegan lifestyle.

4. Soy
Soy and soybean products are naturally gluten-free and an excellent source of protein, iron, and calcium!

5. Corn
This whole grain in all forms are absent of gluten - corn meal, corn flour, corn starch, etc. It is most important to be mindful of the ingredients added with corn.

6. Potato
Whether it be sweet, russet, or any other kind of this starchy vegetable, potatoes are gluten-free. Potato starch flour and potato starch are valuable alternatives to most gluten-containing flours.

7. Beans
Black, kidney, and chili are just a few of the many fiber and protein-packed, gluten-free beans. As a tip, rinse canned beans under water prior to use to reduce sodium content.

8. Tapioca
Produced from the cassava root, tapioca is actually not a grain at all and coined as naturally gluten-free. But like oats, tapioca has a high risk of cross-contamination so should be used with caution.

9. Fruits and Vegetables
Enjoy all the nutritious, colorful produce the market has to offer… apples, bananas, pears, oranges, berries, broccoli, tomatoes, asparagus, cauliflower, carrots, etc.! Fresh fruits and veggies are encouraged not only for optimizing health, but on a gluten-free diet. Though most packaged fruits and vegetables are often considered safe, products such as frozen veggies prepared with a sauce may include a gluten-containing ingredient for flavor enhancement.

10. Animal Proteins
Chicken, turkey, lean beef, fish, and eggs are not only esteemed products on the gluten-free diet list, but are rich protein sources to foster a lean body mass. However, breaded chicken breasts, fish, etc. may contain gluten - stray away from such meat products or look at the label in detail.

11. Milk and Dairy Products
Milk, butter, and real cheese are free of gluten. Flavored dairy products, including yogurts and ice creams, should be yielded with caution. Choosing plain yogurt and ice cream without gluten-containing additions acts as your best bet.

12. Nuts and Seeds
Nuts and seeds (including pecans, flax and chia seeds) are naturally gluten-free. Additionally, nut meals (such as almond and hazelnut) make a great alternative to gluten-based flours. It is important, though, to verify if prepackaged nuts are flavored with any gluten-containing ingredients.

To best verify whether or not gluten is present, take careful notice of the food product labels. If skeptical of a food, skip out on it. And for more gluten-free tips that will change your life, click here!

Doctor-Designed, Chef-Prepared, Weight Loss Program


View ➤
Gluten Free

View ➤


View ➤

View ➤

Explore Our Menu

What's My Diet Type?

Start Your Diet Today!

Reality Check - Your Free Diet Analysis

Simply answer a few questions so we can figure out your weight loss goals and provide solutions for a lighter, healthier you. Our weight loss meal plans are designed to help real people achieve real and lasting success.

as seen on...   

join our free newsletter

Get free support to help you lose weight and be healthy with our Weekly Dish on Health.

stay connected